Latest news – Updated 02/03/10


Once again, Ardee Concert Band hosted the Annual Ensemble Competition organised by the North Eastern Region of the Irish Association of Brass and Concert Bands in the Bohemian Centre, Ardee, on Sunday, 21st Feb 2010.  13 groups took part in four sections, under 14, under 18, Intermediate and Open representing bands from Kingscourt, Navan, Mullingar, Drogheda and Ardee. The adjudicator Brendan Breslin, assistant conductor of Dublin Concert Band, complimented the high standard. Please see our Photo Gallery for photos of the event

1st: Ardee Concert Band (Niamh McCormack, Aine Clarke, Emer Maguire, Ciara O’Callaghan) Melody (Chopin) 85
2nd: Ardee Concert Band (Liam Taaffe, Darren Kirk, Robert Finnegan, Simon Cox) Big Brass Band (James Power) 83
3rd: St.Mary’s Brass & Reed Band, Kingscourt (Michelle Duff, Niamh Martin, Cecilia O’Reilly, Patricia Kennedy, Katie Oates) Au Clair de La Lune 81
1st: Drogheda Brass Band (Conor Rothwell, Grace English, Eoin Tunstead, Amy Townley, Stephen Conlan, Ian McCormack) Danserye (Tylman Susato, arr. Nicholas Hare) 85
2nd: Ardee Concert Band (Niamh McCormack, Mark Gilmore, Cathal Flanagan, Ciaran McLoughlin) Zampa (Herold) 84
3rd: Mullingar Town Band (Danielle Hope, Laura Monaghan, Andreea Butnarin, Chantelle Delahoy) March Romaine (Gounod, arr. Elton E. Burgstahler) 83
4th: Ardee Concert Band (Emily Cox, Fern McCarron, Joseph Halpin) Sarabanda (Arcangello Corelli) 82
1st: Mullingar Town Band (Kim Magee, Dearbhla Murray, Aoife Beglin, Sarah Cummins) The Entertainer (Scott Joplin, arr. Harold L. Walters) 86
2nd: Mullingar Town Band (Greg Mimnagh Dunne, Ross Gavin, Padraig Beglin, Pauric Murray) Song of the Lark (F. Mendelssohn, trans. H. Voxman) 85
3rd: Mullingar Town Band (Sharon Barrett, Zoe Farrell, Adam Collins, Damien Kirby) Finale from String Quartet No. 14 (W.A. Mozart arr. Robert Willaman) 83
1st: Ardee Concert Band (John Gaynor, Dermot Murray, Vincent McArdle, Mark McLoughlin, Kevin Reilly, Niall Doherty) Renaissance Dances (Tylman Susato) 90
2nd: Ardee Concert Band (John Gaynor, Dermot Murray, Peter McKeever, Mark McLoughlin, Oisin Clarke, Vincent McArdle, Fiona Reilly, Kevin Reilly) Sonata Pian’e Forte (Giovanni Gabrielli) 89
3rd: Navan Silver Band (Heather Deegan, Claire O’Halloran, Grainne McNally, Shane Smyth) Grandfather’s Clock (Trad. arr. Michael Brand) 87

Quasar & Bowling

So far, 65 members under 18 and 8 adult members/helpers/parents have signed up to travel on our outing to Quasar and Bowling in Blanchardstown on 7th March 2010. The bus will leave the bandroom at 1.30pm and anyone wishing to go should contact one of our Youth Committee, Fiona Reilly (086.6861647), Sinead Nutley or Clodagh McClean.

National Band Championships

The Championships will once again be held in the UL Concert Hall in Limerick this year. We will have two bands entering, our Senior Band in Section 2 and our Youth Band in Section 4.  Both bands are due to play on Saturday 17th April.

Presentation Night and AGM

A very successful Presentation Night and AGM took place in the Bohemian Centre on Friday 26th February at 7.30pm. The night involved performances by our Recorder Group and Youth Band interspersed with presentations of 54 grade certificates and 40 medals to members of the Senior Band for winning the Championship section of the NIBA Contest on 31st October 2009.  All members were also presented with a copy of the photographic project “Concert Band” which used Ardee Concert Band as a study.  Our AGM followed and the night closed at 9pm with refreshments for all.